2014 massachusetts mid amateur championship
Today marks the 31st playing of the Massachusetts Mid-Amateur Championship.
The state’s top mid-amateur players will come together at Blue Hill Country Club to compete for the 2014 Massachusetts Mid-Amateur Championship title.
This year’s championship should be an exciting one as it represents one of just three MGA events that are three or more days long. The field of 106 competitors will take part in 18-hole stroke play today and tomorrow. Following the second round, the field will be reduced to the low 30 scorers and ties or anyone within five strokes of the lead. Only those competitors will compete in a third and final round of 18 holes of stroke play on Wednesday.Cliff Calvao from Stow Acres CC is the oldest competitor in the field by two years. He turned 65 years old in July. He was one of the 22 qualifiers from the Marlborough Country Club qualifying site.

Michael Pyne of Foxborough Country Club stands as the youngest competitor in the field. Pyne is one of three competitors who were born in 1989 and one of four who are 25 years old as of September 15.

Entries are open to amateur golfers who have reached their 25th birthday by September 15, 2014, who hold membership at an MGA member club and have an up-to-date MGA/USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 5.4 (as determined by the July 1, 2014 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification. Prizes for the champion include the Ted Bishop Cup and a gold medal. Merchandise certificates will be awarded and are only redeemable at Blue Hill Country Club.

About The Championship:
What began in 1984 as a friendly tournament for post-college amateur golfers had evolved into one of the most competitive and sought-after titles on the MGA Championship schedule. When the event debuted in 1984, Peter Drooker captured the inaugural title at the Country Club of New Seabury. Since that time, 15 different golfers have claimed the title of their own. In fact, 10 of the current top 15 point getters in the Richard D. Haskell MGA Player of the Year Standings will be competing this year.