First PGA Tour Repeat Champion since Tiger in 201

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia — Ryan Moore successfully defended his CIMB Classic title, shooting a 5-under 67 on Sunday for a three-stroke win over fellow American Gary Woodland for the second straight year.

Moore’s 5 under par performance on Sunday for a total of 17 under held off Woodland, Sergio Garcia and Kevin Na for the first repeat title on the PGA Tour since 2013.

Scott Stallings at 2014 CIMB Classic

Scott Stallings at 2014 CIMB Classic

Team New England standout in 2014 Scott Stallings finished in the top 25 for his first event of the new season. Kevin Na who held the early lead but on 17 had a double bogy with a sprayed drive into the trees on the 17th. Woodland was also once again is a great position but his 3 put on 18 closed the door on his chances.

in 2013 Moore outlasted Woodland in a playoff but this year birdies on both 14 and 15 gave Ryan the edge and a little more breathing room for his 3 shot victory. The win is Ryan Moore’s 4th on the PAGA Tour and become the first successful title defense since Tiger Woods defended at the Arnold Palmer Invitational in the 2013.

Tiger Woods

Speaking of Tiger Woods, his return to golf is now set for the 2014 Hero World Challenge at Isleworth Country Club December 3rd – 7th in Florida.

The Hero World Challenge is a four-round, 72-hole stoke-play event with a $3.5 million purse and players competing for a $1 million winner’s share. The unique showcase, which awards Official World Golf Ranking points, will be held at the challenging par-72, 7,354-yard Isleworth Golf & Country Club for the first time in the tournament’s 16-year history.

The field of 18 PGA TOUR players is determined as follows: the current four major winners, the top 11 available from the Official World Golf Ranking, the defending champion and two special-exemption players. This year’s special exemptions are Steve Stricker and Keegan Bradley. Zac Johnson captured the crown in 2013 with a stellar back 9 performance.